Gluten Free Tea Overview

What is Gluten Free Tea?

Gluten is a combination of proteins called Prolamin and Glutelin. In our daily life, we all consume gluten, and we are not fully aware of what form, be it wheat, rye, bread, or tea and so forth. Gluten is in absolutely everything we eat and drink on a daily basis it is alarming. With me being a huge tea drinker (being Irish!) and also recently due to medical advise had to go on a Wheat Free diet or Celiac diet I was shocked to discover that after water, tea is the most consumed drink globally. I thought I would never see the day that I was asking such a question as is there such thing as gluten free tea?

We should always read the label of the product before purchasing anything to check for wheat content – although some brands say they are Gluten Free even though they have not been certified. But when it comes to Tea I would never have thought this as tea comes from leaves after all right!? or wrong?

 

gluten free tea overview

 

A Little on CELIAC DISEASE:

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that affects your small intestine and attacks your immune system by having gluten like wheat, rye, and barley. Celiac disease is also known as gluten sensitivity enteropathy or celiac sprue. If people with celiac disease consume gluten, they can have diarrhoea, weight loss, and abdominal pain as a side effect to the damage of the small intestine. This reaction can further lead you to some severe complications and overall discomfort.

So is tea gluten free?

Traditional plain tea — black or green — is made from the leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant, which is not related to the gluten grains wheat, barley and rye. So then, plain tea should be gluten-free, assuming it hasn’t been subjected to gluten cross-contamination in processing.

is tea gluten-free?

Cross Contamination is when gluten-free food comes into contact with food that does contain gluten.

BUT not all teas are made from Camellia Sinensis, and even some that are made from real tea leaves can contain added gluten ingredients. For example, some herbal teas contain barley malt as a sweetener, and some “real” teas have gluten-grain-based flavours (most frequently from barley) in them.

Many companies or big brands claim to not have any gluten in their teas, but there is no authentic proof about this statement. So it is a case of Buyer Beware and always read the labels. Teas can be gluten-free in the raw form, but when the procedure of preserving teas started, it may contain gluten. When the manufacturers start the procedure of packing tea bags or loose leaves, it may have gluten in the form of ingredients like sweetener, flavourings, or wheat paste, which is used to seal the packaging. So manufactures cannot claim their tea is gluten-free unless they have gone to the trouble of having it certified as such.

I am listing down some of the companies which say they have gluten-free tea but don’t have any authenticity. Some companies claim about having gluten-free teas, and they are certified.

So teas are Gluten-Free? See below some Gluten Free tea.

 

Lipton Tea:  Yes gluten free

lipton gluten free tea

 

Lipton tea claims that they have all gluten-free teas. They also say that if they have gluten in it, they will mention in on the label. This brand also claims that they do not use gluten-containing glue for packing tea bags. They use staple or heat pressure to fix the string of teabags.

 

Tazo Tea: 

red tea detox

Tazo tea is a company by Starbucks. They claim that all teas are not gluten-free. Formerly they did not disclose which teas have gluten, but now they have revealed it. Four of their teas have gluten in them. One is green ginger, second is lemon ginger, third is Tazo honeybush, and the last is tea lemonade. You should beware of ordering Tazo teas from Starbucks if you have a gluten intolerance.

 

 

Mighty Leaf Tea:  Yes gluten free

Might leaf teas claim that they don’t have gluten in their teas. This statement has authenticity because it is certified as gluten-free teas by (GFCO), which means the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. There is also a logo of GF on the package, which means it’s gluten-free.

 

Republic of Tea: 

Another company claims that it has gluten-free teas, and the Republic of tea is one of them. THE Gluten-free certification organization also certifies the Republic of tea.

Celestial Seasoning Tea:

Most of the celestial teas are gluten-free, but two teas contain roasted barley that means it has gluten in it. One is Roastorma, and the second is the Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride. They have marked these two teas as gluten contained teas.

Barry’s Tea:

how to make gluten free red tea

 

Barry’s unflavored tea is also a Gluten Free tea. As always just check all labels before you but to be sure and keep an eye out for a certification mark.

 

 

 

One thing to add is if green tea and black tea and some flavoured teas are not ideal for people on a gluten-free diet plan, what should they drink?

Well apart from the above-listed teas – plus there are no doubt many many more on the market I just chose a few to show you there are options nowadays – there is an amazing Red Tea I came across.

Red tea detox gluten free

 

This Red tea is not only gluten-free but it has other amazing benefits. It will not only get rid of hunger pangs, but it also promotes fat burning and boosts energy without relying on caffeine. That’s right, red tea is caffeine-free.

Red tea is basically the perfect health drink. It’s refreshing and tasty and can be served hot or iced. It helps clear toxins… it reduces fat-storing hormones… and it promotes the production of fat-burning hormones… all while naturally reducing stress and balancing insulin.

This amazing Red tea is caffeine-free, vegan and vegetarian safe, dairy-free, gluten-free and sugar-free.

Check it out for yourself. You can make it for yourself or you can buy it HERE.

Yes, it will show you how to make gluten-free tea so if you don’t trust other brands this will be ideal and you can have your own personal certified gluten-free tea!!

You have numerous options when it comes to Gluten Free tea. There is an unlimited number of companies or brands of teas that claim that they make gluten-free teas, but GFCO certifies only a few. Whenever you purchase tea bags or loose tea, always make sure to check the Gluten-Free st status. People with celiac disease should beware of purchasing tea, and they should always read the ingredients on the package and make sure that it is gluten-free. So buyer beware but with an ever-evolving world with allergies and conditions it is good to see that Yes tea is Gluten Free.

Like the post - please share it - thanks

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)